CAGAYAN DE ORO (November 12-14, 2017) – Pursuant to the Implementing Rules and Regulations of MMA Act No. 323 or the Darul-Ifta’ Act of 2015, which was duly approved and signed by the Regional Governor Mujiv S. Hataman last March 16, 2017, the Office of the Regional Darul-Ifta’-ARMM conducted the Provincial Ulama Assembly of Lanao Del Sur intended for the selection of the province’s new Mufti and Deputy Mufti last November 12-14, in Cagayan De Oro City.

The said assembly signaled the end of the interim term of the Mufti and his Deputy which is until December 31, 2017 terminating the previous recommendatory selection of its Mufti and Deputy Mufti in the then Provincial Ulama Assembly 2016 in Lanao Del Sur.

The Regional Darul-Ifta’ invited all the different religious organizations of Ulama, Alimat and Young Ulama of Lanao del Sur to participate in the selection of the new Mufti and Deputy Mufti of the province of Lanao for the unity and solidarity of its religious leaders.


In the morning of the 13th day of November 2017, after the registrations of all the participants coming from different Islamic organizations of Ulama, Alimat and Young Ulama of Lanao, the Provincial Ulama Assembly of Lanao Del Sur began with the recital of the Holy Qur’an followed by the opening supplication of the outgoing Mufti of Lanao, Morad T. Amanoddin.

The welcome and opening remarks was given by the Executive Director of RDI Alim Abdulmuhmin A. Mujahid; thanking all the participants for having attended the assembly despite of their hectic religious activities in their respective localities. Afterwards, Amalnor Malomalo, a provincial staff of RDI Lanao, gave the acknowledgement of the participants.

Prof. Alzad T. Sattar the Undersecretary of the Bureau of Madaris Education who was one of the facilitators of the activity gave the overview of the program and its rationale and was also tasked for the assembly’s workshop on:

  1. Religious enlightenment
  2. Peace and security and
  3. Educational upliftment.




The said workshop led to the reporting of the Ulama members which were divided into four (4) groups. Every group successfully presented and defended their combined ideas on the subject matters cited above.

After the reporting of the groups, the final phase of the program which was the selection of the Mufti and his deputy was immediately initiated by the Executive Director of RDI Ablulmuhmin A. Mujahid and Usec. Alzad T. Sattar of the Bureau of Madaris Education. First, they organized the Council of Elders of the province who would be the ones given the authority to select their Mufti and Deputy Mufti.

The Council of Elders of Lanao consists of the following:

  1. ALIM MORAD T. AMANODDIN         Provincial Darul-Ifta’ of Lanao Del Sur
  2. JUDGE ABOALI CALI                     Ulama League of the Philippiones
  3. ALIM SAAD AMATE                         United Imams of the Philippines
  4. ALIM ABDUL MAJEED DJAMLA      Jamia Mindanao Al-Islamie
  5. ALIM ABDULRAHMAN S. POLI         Provincial Ulama Council
  6. DR. ABULSALAM DISOMIMBA          MSU King Faisal
  7. ALIM AMERODDIN SARANGANI      Ibn Siena Integrated School
  8. DR. ABDULLAH H. ALI MONIB          Jamia Waqf
  9. ALIM ABDULKARIM SIDDIQ              Marawi City Ulama Council
  10. ALIM ANWAR PANDAPATAN             Provincial A’immah-LDS
  11. ALIM MUSTAPHA SARIPADA            Markaz Shabab
  12. ALIM ANSARI ABDULMALIK             Mahad Janoubi Al-Islamie
  13. ALIM AMILODDIN SHARIEF              Jamiatu Muslim Mindanao
  14. ALIM SAMANODDIN AMPASO           Muslim Mindanao Ulama Council
  15. DR. HASSANOR M. ALAPA                Supreme Council of Shari’ah
  16. ALIM MOHAMMAD MAMAO               Jamiatu Muashat Al-Khairiyah
  17. ALIM JAMAIL MACADINDANG          Majlisul Ulma Lil Islam
  18. ALIM SALIH SHARIEF                         Hay Atu Tarbiya Al-Islamiya

After the establishment of the Council of Elders, discussions occurred between them as to how the selection should be done. Alim Ameroddin Saranggani suggested that the Council should select one Mufti and one Deputy Mufti among themselves and the result thereby shall be final but Judge Abu Ali Cali objected by saying that the Regional Governor Mujiv S. Hataman is the appointing authority and his due right on this should not be ignored. So the judge proposed that the Council should select three (3) candidates among the Council of Elders and afterward submit them to the Regional Governor for him to appoint who best fit the positions of Mufti and Deputy Mufti. The argumentation did not end at this point for others suggested that it should be two. Usec. Sattar then interfered and immediately asked the Council to vote by raising their hands as to who were in favor of one, two or three. The three prevailed.

When the selection was about to start, the 18 members of the Council were asked if they wanted to run for Mufti and Deputy Mufti and all refused except four (4) raised their hands. So the four names were taken to be voted upon by the Council and the result was:

  1. AMILODDIN M. SHARIEF             garnered eight (8) votes.
    King Saud University graduate on Propagation


  1. HASSANOR M. ALAPA                     garnered seven (7) votes.
    Kuwait University graduate on Shari’ah, LLB Law


  1. MUSTAPHA M. SARIPADA             garnered two    (2) votes
    Masteral in Shari’ah at Um-Al-Qura University


  1. ABDULMAJID DJAMLA                   garnered one    (1) vote.
    Islamic Studies graduate from Libya

In addition to this, in the above result however, Hassanor M. Alapa mistakenly voted for himself which was against the house rule of the selection. Thereafter, it was agreed upon that the above mentioned four names be submitted to the Regional Governor who is the appointing authority on the final selection of Mufti and Deputy Mufti of the province of Lanao Del Sur. Then, the Council of Elders which is composed of the best and known Islamic organizations in Lanao, requested if the good Regional Governor could give them even just an honorarium and thereby make the council as an established Council of Elders in the province where religious and other important affairs that affect the community are first taken to them.

Finally, the program was concluded in the evening with the closing statements coming from RDI Executive Director Abdulmuhmin A. Mujahid and Undersecretary of BME Prof. Alzad T. Sattar.

Posted in Programs & Activities.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *